Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation

This page contains information relating to the Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation (ATAGI).

Page last updated: 05 June 2017

ATAGI Terms of Reference

The Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation (ATAGI) provides advice to the Minister for Health on the Immunise Australia Program and other related issues. In addition to technical experts, ATAGI's membership includes a consumer and general practitioners.

The Terms of Reference of the Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation are to:

  • provide technical advice to the Minister for Health on the medical administration of vaccines available in Australia, including those on the National Immunisation Program
  • through the department, provide advice to research funding bodies regarding the status of current immunisation research and areas where additional research is required
  • advise the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee on matters relating to the ongoing strength of evidence pertaining to existing, new and emerging vaccines in relation to their effectiveness and use in Australian populations
  • produce the Australian Immunisation Handbook for the approval of the National Health and Medical Research Council
  • consult with the National Immunisation Committee (NIC) on the content and format of the Australian Immunisation Handbook and associated implementation strategies
  • consult with the Communicable Diseases Network Australia (CDNA) and the Advisory Committee on Vaccines (ACV) on matters relating to the implementation of immunisation policies, procedures and vaccine safety.

ATAGI Strategic Intent

ATAGI Membership (at January 2016)

Voting Members

Name Area of Expertise Position
Prof. Ross Andrews Chair, Epidemiologist / Indigenous Health Research Fellow, Global & Tropical Health Division, Menzies School of Health Research, Charles Darwin University, NT
Assoc. Prof. Christopher Blyth Deputy Chair, Paediatric Infectious Diseases, Clinical Microbiology Princess Margaret Hospital for Children, Path West Laboratory and University of Western Australia, Western Australia
Prof. Allen Cheng Adult Infectious Disease, Epidemiology and Public Health Infectious Disease Physician and Director, Infection Prevention Healthcare Epidemiology Unit, Alfred Health
Dr Nigel Crawford Vaccine Safety and special risk groups Consultant Paediatrician and Deputy Director Surveillance of adverse events following vaccination in the community (SAEFVIC)
Assoc. Prof. Michelle Giles Adult Immunisation and Antenatal Infectious Disease Infectious Disease Physician, The Alfred Hospital; Adult Immunisation Physician, Monash Immunisation
Ms Madeline Hall Public health nurse/ vaccination procedures Nurse Practitioner, Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital, Queensland Health
Assoc. Prof. Noel Hayman Indigenous Health, Public Health Indigenous GP, Southern Queensland Centre of Excellence in Indigenous Primary Health Care (Inala Indigenous Health Service), Queensland
Prof. David Isaacs Use of vaccines and immunobiological agents in clinical practice and Preventive Medicine Clinical Professor, Paediatrics & Child Health, Children's Hospital Westmead, University of Sydney
Prof. Helen Marshall Clinical and Clinical Trial/Vaccine and Infectious Diseases Research expertise Senior Medical Practitioner and Medical Director, Vaccinology and Immunology Research Trials Unit, Women’s and Children’s Hospital and Robinson Research Institute and School of Paediatrics and Reproductive Health, University of Adelaide, Adelaide, South Australia
Prof. Jodie McVernon Research/ Clinical / Laboratory Vaccine Research Program Leader, Vaccine and Immunisation Research Group, Murdoch Childrens Research Institute and Melbourne School of Population Health, University of Melbourne
Ms Debra Petrys Consumer Representative Consumer Health Forum
Dr Nicholas Silberstein General Practice General Practitioner, Brunswick Betta Health

Ex - officio Members

Name Area of Expertise Position
Dr Masha Somi Representative from Department of Health Assistant Secretary, Immunisation Branch, Department of Health
Dr Sonya Bennett Communicable Diseases Network of Australia (CDNA) Executive Director, Communicable Disease Branch, Queensland Health
Dr Ting Lu Representative from the Therapeutic Goods Administration Office of Medicines Authorisation, Market Authorisation Group, Therapeutic Goods Administration
Prof. Peter McIntyre National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance (NCIRS) Director, NCIRS
Ms Karen Peterson National Immunisation Committee (NIC) Immunisation Manager, Queensland Health

Conflict of Interest

Further Information

Postal address:

ATAGI Secretariat
Department of Health
Immunisation Branch
GPO Box 9848 - MDP 13 
Email: ATAGI Secretariat

ATAGI Bulletins