National Immunisation Committee

Page last updated: 27 November 2017

National Immunisation Committee (NIC) Terms of Reference

The objectives of the NIC are to:

  • Progress and oversee implementation of the National Immunisation Strategy with respect to its strategic priority areas and outcomes.
  • Provide advice on the strategic direction of the National Immunisation Program (NIP), including policy and program advice to support the implementation of the Program.
  • Represent the views of key immunisation stakeholders groups, including health professionals, peak bodies, consumers and researchers and the Commonwealth and state and territory governments.
  • Consult and collaborate with other peak immunisation related committees, including the Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation (ATAGI), Jurisdictional Immunisation Coordinators (JIC) and the Communicable Diseases Network Australia (CDNA).
  • Provide advice on the development and implementation of NIP communication strategies.

NIC Membership

Current NIC Membership (at 1 July 2017)

Voting Members
Name Position/Organisation
Dr Masha Somi (Chair) Assistant Secretary, Immunisation Branch, Department of Health
Dr Vicky Sheppeard (Deputy Chair) Director, Communicable Diseases Network Australia
Ms Carolyn Banks Manager, Communicable Diseases Control Business and Immunisation Health Protection Service, Australian Capital Territory Health
Ms Karen Booth President, Australian Primary Health Care Nurses Association
Dr Penny Burns Royal Australian College of General Practitioners
Ms Kate Cheney Australian College of Midwives
Ms Katrina Clark National Indigenous Immunisation Coordinator, National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance
Dr Jane Cook Assistant Secretary, Pharmacovigilance and Special Access Branch, Therapeutic Goods Association
Ms Sue Campbell-Lloyd Manager, Immunisation Unit, New South Wales Ministry of Health
A/Prof Michael Douglas Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine
Ms Simone Duncombe Manager, Communicable Diseases Prevention Unit, Department of Health and Human Services, Tasmania
Prof Paul Effler Medical Coordinator, Prevention and Control Program, Communicable Disease Control Directorate, Department of Health, Western Australia
Ms Janice Finlayson Maternal, Child and Family Health Nurses Australia
Mr Noel Lally Manager, Immunisation Section, Communicable Disease Control Branch, Department of Health, South Australia
Ms Alison Marcus Consumers Health Forum of Australia
Ms Karly Maurer Australian Local Government Association
Prof Peter McIntyre Director, National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance
Ms Janine Mohamed The Congress of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nurses and Midwives
Dr Dennis Pashen Rural Doctors Association of Australia
Mr Stephen Pellissier Manager, Immunisation Health Protection Branch, Department of Health and Human Services, Victoria
Ms Karen Peterson Manager, Immunisation Program, Communicable Diseases Branch, Department of Health Queensland
Dr Rosalind Webby Head of Immunisation, Centre for Disease Control, Department of Health, Northern Territory
Ms Mary-Anne Williams National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation
Dr Anne Wilson Australian Medical Association

Further Information

Postal address:

NIC Secretariat
Department of Health
Immunisation Branch
GPO Box 9848-MDP 13
Email: NIC Secretariat